

Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) Named Awards in Even-Numbered Years

I. Jose Rizal International Medal

The APAO awards the Jose Rizal International Medal to outstanding personalities from outside the Asia-Pacific region who have made exceptionally valuable contributions to ophthalmology in the Asia-Pacific area. It may not be awarded if there is no suitable candidate for the year.

II. De Ocampo Lecture

The De Ocampo Lecture is the highest award for excellent academic achievements. Speakers should be ophthalmologists from the Asia-Pacific region and have an outstanding clinical or basic research background. It honors Dr Geminiano De Ocampo, the founding President of the APAO.

III. Susruta Lecture

The Susruta Lecture recognizes contributions to cataract surgery, whatever the aspect. Priority is given to ophthalmologists who have contributed to the control of mass cataract blindness, which is a perennial problem in the Asia-Pacific region. It honors Susruta, an ancient physician in the Indian subcontinent.

IV. Arthur Lim Award

The Arthur Lim Award recognizes ophthalmologists who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the field of ophthalmology and subsequently made substantial improvements in ophthalmic teaching and training in their countries and beyond. It is named after Prof Arthur Lim, former President and Secretary-General of the APAO.